Bird ID - iPhone to the rescue.

If you would like to post, you'll need to register. Note that if you have a BCG store account, you'll need a new, separate account here (we keep the two sites separate for security purposes).

BarkingBeans Coffee

Michael H
Supporting Member
Marketplace
Today I discovered a cool feature on my iPhone. I am a rookie birder. I mean a real rookie. After transferring a couple of photos via Snapbridge to my iPhone I discovered it was happy to help me identify them. Didn’t know that feature existed so sharing in case others weren’t aware. When I hit the information button I saw the look up bird and the phone was happy to identify it and give me information.

BAF7C20B-B2BB-44B3-9E17-593E94A63675.jpeg
You can only see EXIF info for this image if you are logged in.

A70ED2BE-FDCE-43F6-A8EA-33283E863209.jpeg
You can only see EXIF info for this image if you are logged in.

Another app I find useful is Seek by iSeek Naturalist. I think it is also somehow affiliated with the Cornell Ornithology group. Merlin is dedicated to birds and is great. iSeek will id plants, trees, mushrooms and even insects. I find it about 90% accurate with my own ID. A few times it has proven me incorrect in my ID too.

That is a very cool feature you pointed out on the iPhone. Mac OS also has the same thing in the latest version of the Photos app.

I installed that. They serve different purposes. With Apple I get an image presented to confirm match and with Cornell I have to answer questions to be presented a list of birds. Both are useful. Different approaches and results.
Merlin also has a photo ID option. The only question it asks, apart from which photo to use, is location. Location helps on ID if you provide it.