Does this type of image work?

If you would like to post, you'll need to register. Note that if you have a BCG store account, you'll need a new, separate account here (we keep the two sites separate for security purposes).

Trying to convey the coyote's camouflage. Do you like it?
DSC_0803s.jpg
You can only see EXIF info for this image if you are logged in.

I do! I'm looking at it on my phone, so perhaps it is better on my computer, but maybe if the coyote was sharper? A personal choice...in my view the coyote is still your main subject.

I guess you may want the grass in front to be in focus to highlight the camo?

On my d500, I've programmed the pv button for spot focus to help me with situations like this. Or use manual. A mirrorless with animal eye af might grab focus on the coyote, but I don't have one (yet).

But I favor photos that include the animals environment and habits as part of the composition, so my personal answer is yes, this kind of photo works!
I'm a beginner, but discussions like this help me learn.
Alan

I do! I'm looking at it on my phone, so perhaps it is better on my computer, but maybe if the coyote was sharper? A personal choice...in my view the coyote is still your main subject.

I guess you may want the grass in front to be in focus to highlight the camo?

On my d500, I've programmed the pv button for spot focus to help me with situations like this. Or use manual. A mirrorless with animal eye af might grab focus on the coyote, but I don't have one (yet).

But I favor photos that include the animals environment and habits as part of the composition, so my personal answer is yes, this kind of photo works!
I'm a beginner, but discussions like this help me learn.
Alan
I also have a photo where the coyote is sharp. I thought maybe the blur would help the camo work. Thank you!

Two new ideas, B&W and a sharp coyote:
DSC_0803s-1.jpg
DSC_0804s-1.jpg

Does anyone think more or less contrast would help?