How well does the 500 PF lens work with the Z9?

If you would like to post, you'll need to register. Note that if you have a BCG store account, you'll need a new, separate account here (we keep the two sites separate for security purposes).

Wink Jones

Supporting Member
Marketplace
My Z9 will be here soon. I am a non professional shooter. I just cannot convince myself to spend 6k for the Z800 PF. I can get the 500 PF lens for $3,295 right now, but it is not a Z lens. How is the tracking and focusing with the Z9 and the 500 PF?

The 500PF is, IMO, as good or better on the Z9 than it is on F-mount cameras. I've had a lot of fun with it on the Z9 :)

However, it also does not have all the features you find with a Z mount lens - lens fn buttons 1 and 2, control ring, etc. It also works differently from a control standpoint. IMO, there is value to having consistency from lens to lens and it's one of the things I'm struggling with at the moment with my Z9. I have a mix of adapted glass and F-mount glass and it's tough to set important functions to things like lens fn2 buttons and control rings when not all of my lenses have those options.

So, it's not an easy call...

The 500PF is, IMO, as good or better on the Z9 than it is on F-mount cameras. I've had a lot of fun with it on the Z9 :)

However, it also does not have all the features you find with a Z mount lens - lens fn buttons 1 and 2, control ring, etc. It also works differently from a control standpoint. IMO, there is value to having consistency from lens to lens and it's one of the things I'm struggling with at the moment with my Z9. I have a mix of adapted glass and F-mount glass and it's tough to set important functions to things like lens fn2 buttons and control rings when not all of my lenses have those options.

So, it's not an easy call...