Transporting wildlife photography gear on a bicycle

If you would like to post, you'll need to register. Note that if you have a BCG store account, you'll need a new, separate account here (we keep the two sites separate for security purposes).

Hello everyone, it's my first time posting here and I am quite new to wildlife photography. Sorry if this topic was already discussed but I couldn't find any relevant information using the search function.

I am looking for a safe way to transport photography gear on a bicycle. In my case, I would like to be able to take with me on the bicycle at least my body with a 200-500mm telephoto lens. Riding with a backpack is not the most comfortable option so I was thinking about a bag attached to the rear bike rack.
Would this be a safe option for the optic taking into consideration possible vibrations while driving in the woods, on gravel/dirt roads?
Maybe the bag should be filled with some foam cut out to exactly fit the camera and lens I use?
Am I over-concerned or could this really be an issue?
What are your ways of transporting photo gear on a bicycle? Please share with me your suggestions and experiences :)

Thanks in advance for all the responses!

Hi & welcome to BCG.
Have used a bike to get around but have only used a backpack.
I’m not a cyclist, but even if you packed out a rear side saddle bag then surely that’s going to be subject to a lot of juddering & vibration especially being positioned over the rear wheel?
This is just an opinion, but would be good to hear what the others say.