Would you replace your Z9 with Z8?

If you would like to post, you'll need to register. Note that if you have a BCG store account, you'll need a new, separate account here (we keep the two sites separate for security purposes).

dasm

I've been using the Z9 since June 2022 and have been happy with it over all. But I have always been uncomfortable with its size and weight. It has been struggle for me shooting birds handheld with the Z9 and F 200-500mm and even with Z 100-400mm. Based on all the specs, it sounds like the Z8 is the "Z9 Light." As a result, I am seriously contemplating replacing the Z9 with the Z8 and accordingly added my name to the waiting list with one of the local camera stores. What do you think? Are you also thinking of replacing the Z9 with the Z8? Love to hear your opinion. Thanks.

If you have been using it almost a year and it's still a big concern, seems totally reasonable to change.

I'm happy with my z9, but i have ordered a z8 to replace my z6ii.
Thanks. That is my second choice. I am just waiting to see how much trade-in value there will be for Z9 and Z6ii. At the same time, I'm thinking, if the weight is so much concern for me why should I keep Z9. I've a feeling once I get the Z8, I'll end up using it most of the time. Hence, I might as well trade in the Z9 now when it is less than a year old.

I've been using the Z9 since June 2022 and have been happy with it over all. But I have always been uncomfortable with its size and weight. It has been struggle for me shooting birds handheld with the Z9 and F 200-500mm and even with Z 100-400mm. Based on all the specs, it sounds like the Z8 is the "Z9 Light." As a result, I am seriously contemplating replacing the Z9 with the Z8 and accordingly added my name to the waiting list with one of the local camera stores. What do you think? Are you also thinking of replacing the Z9 with the Z8? Love to hear your opinion. Thanks.