Z8 / Z9 DECISIONS

If you would like to post, you'll need to register. Note that if you have a BCG store account, you'll need a new, separate account here (we keep the two sites separate for security purposes).

ingweDave

Supporting Member
Marketplace
I have just returned from a business trip to Australia, which included a couple of days wildlife photography. On my first day out I had a disaster! I was walking with a couple of local photographers at a well know location in Sydney. I had my Z9 + 800pf on a monopod with Wimberley Mono gimbal. I have been using this set up for quite some time and although I like the operation, it always concerns me how awkward it is to attach the side mount and also the amount of weight that is being supported on the side of the gimbal. (I am an engineer:unsure:) I have even set up a Kensington lead, wrapped around the gimbal, with a short length of lead into the Kensington lock on the 800pf. I realise that this is not intended to take the weight of the camera and lens but have always thought it may avoid a disaster. Anyway, after using this setup for a long time, on this particular day I didn't attach the cable! You can probably guess what coming next. It was almost slow motion as the Z9 + 800pf hit the deck. To be fair, it was not the hardest of falls, onto bare earth but the lens sheered off, removing the mount from the body. My two local companions didn't know what to say but after some seconds I said it was my stupid fault. Although I am obsessive about checking the tightness of the Arca Swiss clamp, I clearly didn't on this occasion. After a few minutes contemplation, my companions informed me that the Nikon Australia headquarters were only 1200 yards away! Off I trudged and 15 minutes later I was in the reception of Nikon Australia. Here I was greeted by a large poster, telling me the new Z mounts are 60% thinner than the F mounts!! This possibly contribute to the ease of failure but I am not blaming that! Nikon were really hel