Binocular 8x42 or 10x42?

If you would like to post, you'll need to register. Note that if you have a BCG store account, you'll need a new, separate account here (we keep the two sites separate for security purposes).

Hello,

I'm going to buy a Vortex crossfire or Diamond binocular. I can't decide between 8x42 or 10x42 for birds. I need your advice please. Please I don't want Swarovski , Zeiss and Leica are excessively expensive. I'm looking for a good binocular and a good reasonable price. I don't know if Nikon PROSTAFF P7 8x42 or Nikon Monarch M7 Binoculars 8x42 is better than Vortex? My budget I can spend £150 to £350 . I'm not birdwatching because I'm a photographer but I need a good binocular. for example when the birds are well hidden and I can't take a photo so I can use a binocularThank you very much.

Last edited:
How much do you want to spend? What are you using them for primarily? I have 7x, 8x, 10x 12x and they are all useful for their intended purposes. Sometimes there is a crossover in use between them, but sometimes not. Nobody can tell you which is best for you, only you can decide that and the only way is to get to an optical dealer and try them over as much time a you can afford. Personally I would limit your selection at a dealer to 3 different makes and if you can, try the different magnitudes within each range. If you try too many in one go, it can get quite overwhelming! Also, if you wear spectacles, that is going to be a major factor in the usability or otherwise of any bin.

I would suggest going to or joining Birdforum, where there are many experienced and knowledgeable people to guide you and also reviews etc. I would also end by saying that going with cheap and cheerful may not be the answer and spending a little more will take you into a higher quality range and prove a worthwhile investment. It all comes down what you want out of them.